Eight Month Update

P1110558Our little darling is now eight months old.  How is that possible?  It seems like just last week that our house was filled with people who wanted to meet our brand new baby girl.  Jane continues to be a delight; she is such a sweet and loving little girl who fills our hearts with so much joy.  She loves Harrison, and loves it when Andrew chases him with her in arms.  She gives open mouth kisses and is a very social baby.  She is easily entertained when we are out and about and rarely fusses unless I leave the room for a moment.  She loves her Fisher Price learning table and shape sorter, as well as her stacking cups.  Anything that makes noise is sure to entertain her for hours.  We love her more and more each day and are so thankful for the tremendous blessing that she is.

Weight: 22 pounds, 3 ounces (just under the 97%-ile)

Height: 27.5 inches (75%-ile)

Diaper size: 4

P1110532Clothing size: 6-9 or 6-12 month.  I’m going to have to buy her some 12 month pajamas ASAP, though.

Shoe size: 3.  She’s starting to wear shoes more often and thankfully her feet have thinned out a bit, because even though she fit lengthwise, her little piggies were too round to fit in the appropriate shoes until recently.

Sleep: Jane is doing about the same as last month; she sleeps on her belly at night, but comes into bed with us in the middle of the night.  She typically goes down around 8, wakes at 10, and then between 12 & 2, which is when she comes to bed with us.  It’s nice to start her out in her own bed so that she’s used to it when she does finally stay in her room all night, but I love waking up to her sweet smiling face (between 7:15 & 7:45), so I’m not overly anxious to keep her in her crib all night long.  Although we still hold her for most of her naps, I’ve had some success this month putting her down during her longer nap.  She usually takes two naps, three if they’ve been short ones.

Jane & Nana

Jane & Nana

Milestones: Although she’s not full on crawling, she is able to move around and scoots and turns on her bottom.  She will push herself backwards on her tummy, spin around, and stretch really far to get what she wants.  I try to offer solids twice a day, usually with fruit in the morning and veggies in the evening.  She really likes green vegetables; pureed spinach and beans have been her favorite foods.  She also likes to chew on stalks of broccoli.  And big news!  She now has two teeth!  We were getting some atrocious sleep the week before they came in, but once I (finally) realized what was going on, Hyland’s teething tablets were our friends and they helped quite a bit.  Unfortunately, Jane has been biting when nursing quite a bit and it hurts.  I’ve tried all manner of tactics to get her to stop, and at a recent La Leche League meeting I was assured that this would be very temporary.  Thank goodness!

Challenges: A rough week or two with very poor sleep before her bottom teeth came through, and biting when nursing.  Ouch!!

Successes: We have adapted to our sleep deprived state and function reasonably well.  Andrew and I are making it a priority to have a real date at least once a month, this month we saw Monument Men while my mom watched Jane.  Life is pretty sweet right now, we fall more in love with Jane every day and are so very thankful that we get to be her parents.

P1110569Post Partum: My stretch marks have pretty much faded and I’ve been back in my regular clothes for quite a while.  My body is much softer now, what little tone I had in my abdomen is gone, and my derriere is quite different, too.  I keep trying to figure out how to get to the gym, but it never seems to happen.  I know that I need to just stop making excuses and make it a priority.