Easier Said Than Done

I am a huge supporter of breastfeeding, in fact, it’s become a passion of mine and I am even going through training this week to become a certified breastfeeding counselor.  I love seeing women nurse in public, and I feel so empowered when nursing Jane in the ergo.

But.  If I don’t have the ergo with me, I’ve discovered that I’m a hypocrite.  Twice in the last week I’ve had to breastfeed in public and I was so incredibly nervous and tried to distract Jane so that I wouldn’t have to.  No dice.  The first time was at a restaurant in Winter Park, where I did manage to nurse.  The second time was at the DMV yesterday.  I’ve always vehemently said that I would never feed my child in the bathroom.  But I did. Standing up.  Then she wanted more milk after we left the restroom, so I tried to be discreet.  But when she lifted my shirt almost to my face, thereby exposing me to the world I told her no and stopped.

Even now, I’m so frustrated with myself.  I’m frustrated that I didn’t bring my ergo because it allows me complete comfort nursing in public; I’m frustrated that I didn’t plan well.  And I’m frustrated because I let myself and Jane down.  I guess I’m not as brave as I thought I was.

2 thoughts on “Easier Said Than Done

  1. First, Awesome on getting certified! I think if more new mom’s (and not new moms) had more support especially those first few months, breastfeeding wouldn’t continue to be such a hot topic.

    Have you seen the new Ricky Lake movie about breastfeeding?

    Breastfeeding is a tricky business, though I’m not quite sure how it became that way. Formula companies? I don’t think you should beat yourself up about where you breastfeed (bathroom, car, etc.). I’ve never been able to breastfeed in public without a cover. But I don’t judge those that do nurse without a cover b/c a cover can be a pain, and sometimes the babies want nothing to do with it and then you aren’t covered anyway. Ha, babies always win!

    It the words of Miss Taylor Swift, “haters gonna hate…I shake it off, I shake it off” ;P

    ps – You won my contest missy, so I need your address (should have written it down when you mailed me the book!).

    pss – sorry I just wrote my own blog post in your comments. geez I’m wordy tonight. lol

    • Thanks, Jen, I’m really excited! No, I haven’t seen the movie; I’ll have to see if it’s on Netflix. We learned about the history of breastfeeding in the United States yesterday, and it all changed in the 1920s when formula companies started heavy marketing and appealing to the “modern woman” and physicians started preaching that formula was superior nutrition. It’s sad , really, so much negative change just 100 years ago. Hopefully we’re starting to make positive change now, though.

      Blog away! 😉

      I’m excited that I won! I’ll email you today!

Leave a Reply

