Read This Book!!

I’ve been hearing about Jim Gaffigan’s book Dad Is Fat for a while and just recently picked up a copy.  I’m so glad that I did!  It is hilarious and heart warming and rings so very true!

Jim and his wife Jeannie have five kids.  Yup, five.  And they live in a tiny apartment in New York City.  They had all five of their babies at home and practice attachment parenting.  But even if none of this sounds like you, that’s okay!  Because the parenting difficulties in the USA are pretty much universal regardless of your actual method of parenting, this book will be funny to almost every parent out there.

Gaffigan is a funny guy, in fact, he’s a stand up comic.  But he’s not your run of the mill raunchy comic, he’s someone who is truly hilarious, but you don’t feel like you need to clean your ears out with soap after listening to his act and he brings that brand of hilarity to his book.  He talks about the funny things his kids do, the annoying things his kids do, the dumb things he does, and about what an amazing woman his wife is.  One of the great things about this book is that while it’s funny and he does complain about his kids, woven through each story is such deep love for his children.  Sometimes in this culture that we live in, the dumb, useless, uninvolved father is all that we see, but Gaffigan shows us that it is possible to be a completely flawed human being, yet still totally in love with your kids and involved in the day to day happenings of their lives.

“Of course, I don’t think I’m God, but I am a little godlike to my children.  This is what I’m going to miss the most.  Even though they don’t view me as the tyrant I’d hope to be, to them I’m all-powerful: I’m their creator and provider.  They love me and kind of fear me.  They want to be in my arms when they are scared.  They want my forgiveness after they’ve done something wrong — ‘Daddy, are you happy at me?’  They want to be with me. I know this won’t last.  The expectations have been set too high.  It’s only a matter of time before they are totally disappointed when I fall off that lofty pedestal and they realize I’m just a giant kid myself.  It’s at that point I’ll run into some dad with a toddler gazing at him in wonder, and I’ll say ‘You’re going to miss this.’ And he’ll say, ‘Hey, aren’t you the Hot Pocket guy?'”

So help Jim and Jeannie get a bigger apartment.  Buy this book.

The Gaffigans

I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.  All opinions are 100% mine.

4 thoughts on “Read This Book!!

Leave a Reply

