{One Year Old}

This post is long overdue for two reasons.  One, I just haven’t had a good chunk of time to sit down and write it.  And, two, I’m in denial that my baby is now a year old.  How did this happen?

At the dentist.  She's fine... for now...

At the dentist. She’s fine… for now…

Our sweet girl is more and more a toddler everyday and precariously close to walking by herself, although she is very particular about how she will walk.  She wants to hold on to a finger from each hand while we walk behind her and complains emphatically if we deviate from normal.  We did two weeks of swimming lessons this month, and although she didn’t totally love them, she does enjoy being in the water if I’m holding her.  We also had a pretty traumatic first: a dental/surgical visit.  I have known for a while that she had a lip tie, but started to suspect that she had a posterior tongue tie as well, so we traveled to Lakeland to see a dentist who uses a laser and who doesn’t use general anesthesia.

P1110987Height: 29 inches (50th %-ile)

Weight: 22 pounds, 12 ounces (75th %-ile)

Head circumference: 47 cm (95th %-ile)

Happy Fathers' Day!

Happy Fathers’ Day!

Shoe size: 3

Diaper size: 4

Clothing: Mostly 18 month, some 12 month

Sleep: Well, we started and stopped night weaning because it was hugely unsuccessful.  I think we gave it a good try, but she just isn’t ready and no one was getting any sleep.  So we’ll try again in August (probably).  She wakes up hourly until we bring her into bed with us, and then it’s usually every 2-3 hours until 7:30 when she’s up for the day.  I know this sounds ridiculous.  It sounds ridiculous to me, too, but we actually do function pretty well, even with interrupted sleep and I love waking up to her every morning.  She has tried to give up her morning nap, but I’m not throwing in the towel yet!  I love that she takes two naps a day and I’m no where near ready (and neither is she, really) to go down to one.

20140524_113031Periodically I get asked if I will do things differently with the next baby and my usual reply is that I’m sure I will.  I’m not married to anything but my husband, and we will do what works best for our family as our family grows and changes.

janeNerinMilestones: She says doggie, daddy, book, ball, Tracy, bye bye, and hi, and she can sign please, more, food/eat, and all done.  We are working on asking for things nicely, and she does a good job (for a one year old) of saying please.

Challenges: Night weaning and getting her to actually put food in her mouth instead of on the floor!

Celebrating Stephen's graduation

Celebrating Stephen’s graduation

Successes: We have navigated this first year of parenting without killing each other (haha! but really) 🙂

2 thoughts on “{One Year Old}

  1. Happy Birthday Jane!

    How did the dentist visit go? Zekie was tongue tied when he was born, had trouble nursing, but they just clipped it right in the peds office at day 4. No shots or anything, which seemed shocking at first, but after about 3 seconds he stopping crying and was fine. Babies are so surprising.

    • It was a really quick procedure, but still pretty traumatic for Jane 😦 They put on some numbing cream, I swaddled her, and then they lasered both ties but she screamed and looked at me like she was being tortured. Thankfully it only took about two minutes and I will check or next baby much earlier instead of waiting nearly a year.

Leave a Reply

