Jane is Five Months Old!

For some reason I thought that I drafted this post, oh, a month ago.  Turns out, I didn’t!  So even though Jane is now actually six (yikes!) months old, here is her five month update.

In the pumpkin patch

In the pumpkin patch

Our sweet baby girl is growing and changing so quickly these days.  She can sit on her own for a few seconds, watches everything, is very into Harrison, discovered her toes, and she loves her jumparoo.  She continues to delight us with her sweet smiles and laughs, and has become a little bit chattier.  We stayed busy this month, but we were not slammed with activity; she celebrated her first Halloween, went to Sea World, celebrated Daddy’s birthday, and went to two of Uncle Stephen’s football games. 

Height: 26 inches

Weight: 19 pounds, 6.5 ounces

At Stephen's football game.  He was crowned Homecoming King!

At Stephen’s football game. He was crowned Homecoming King!

Sleep: Jane generally falls asleep between 9 & 9:30 (though I would love for her to go down about an hour earlier) and wakes up 1-3 times to nurse.  She still takes about 4 naps, but she hasn’t decided yet if she’s ready to give up her evening nap.  Some days yes, some days no.  Most of the time she nurses to sleep and then I can place her in her crib, and she also sleeps in the crib most of the night.  Some days I bring her into bed in the middle of the night if I’m just too tired to sit in the recliner.

Clothing: I continue to stuff her into her 6 month clothes, but some of her 9 month outfits fit very well.

Shoe size: 2, I think… she never wears shoes!

P1100763Diaper size: 3

Milestones: Jane can sit independently for about 3 seconds, she can grab and chew on her toes, has started to show some signs of separation anxiety.  She is incredibly interested in our food and has become a very distracted nurser.  If I am eating drinking, or talking to Andrew, she pops off and looks intently at whatever I’m doing.  Cute, but a little aggravating, too.

P1100796Challenges: Housework, cooking, exercising, and errands continue to get pushed to the wayside.  I try not to let it bother me too much because I will never be able to give one baby so much of my attention, and I only have this day with her once.  Every day is so precious!

Post partum: Some things will just never be the same again.  I suppose that one sentence speaks for itself.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

