The Car

We have settled into a pretty nice routine as a family of three and Andrew and I are really enjoying watching Jane thrive.   Although we are still far from truly sleeping through the night, we are getting more sleep.  Jane typically does one five hour stretch and then several 1.5-3 hour stretches at night.  She still starts the night in her crib after nursing to sleep while listening to Andrew read from The Chronicles of Narnia, but usually ends up in bed with me around 6 AM.  One day this week we were able to sleep until 9 after I brought her to bed at 6!  She has stretched out her nursing sessions during the day as well and usually takes three naps, one of which is 3-4 hours long.

So life is going pretty well, except for the last frontier: the car seat.

My sweet baby has a really easy going personality, but she has a limited tolerance for the car seat.  If our car ride is more than 10 minutes long, chances are she will have a meltdown.  It is so heartbreaking and now I hate going out when we’re by ourselves.  If I can get her in the seat when she’s in a deep sleep we might be able to go on a long outing, but it’s pretty tricky and I’m usually not too successful.  I’m hoping that this is just a phase, because it would be really nice to be able to take some longer trips out.

But in the meantime, I will give my sweet girl extra cuddles on days when she has to be in the car seat.

Leave a Reply

