He is Jealous For Me

I was reading my Bible this morning and spending some time with God for the first time since Jane was born and read Ezekiel 14.  This chapter is about idolatry, something that Israel was having serious trouble with.  When I saw the header of this chapter, I wasn’t expecting to be convicted when I read the third verse

Son of man, these men have set up idols in their hearts and put wicked stumbling blocks before their faces.

Wow.  It’s been ten weeks since I’ve spent any time in the Word and this hit me like a ton of bricks.  I have idols.  I’ve made myself my own god.  I’ve heard sermon after sermon about having idols, but I feel like this was God talking to me directly in a new way. “I am jealous for you,” He whispered.

He is jealous for me.

He is jealous for me.

He wants my time and attention.  He wants my love.  How amazing is that?  He loves me so much that He wants me.  May I not take that for granted.  May I every day make the choice to serve the One True God, and not myself.

Leave a Reply

