The Winnowing Season

The Winnowing Season by Cindy Woodsmall is the second the “Amish Vines and Orchards” series, and a really great read.  Although I didn’t read the first book in the series, I didn’t feel lost at all.  It took me several chapters to really “get into” the story, but after that, I was hooked!  The book even ends with a bit of a cliffhanger and I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book.

The Winnowing Season tells the story of Rhoda Byler, a young Amish woman with a peculiar gift: she sometimes has visions or inklings that have caused her Amish community to accuse her of witchcraft.  She, her brother and his family, and another Amish family move from Pennsylvania to Maine to start a new Amish settlement, but hardship seems to follow Rhoda wherever she goes, and their new settlement is in jeopardy.

It’s pretty hard to get me excited about a lot of Christian fiction, but this is one book that I would definitely recommend.  To read a sample, click here.

I received this book for free as part of the Blogging for Books Program through WaterBrook Multnomah.  All opinions are 100% mine.  Don’t forget to rate my review!


2 thoughts on “The Winnowing Season

  1. Pingback: The Winnowing Season |

  2. Pingback: For Every Season | Thinking Out Loud

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s