Life As We Know It

wpid-20130730_114730.jpgLife as we know it has changed dramatically in the last 5.5 weeks. The focus of our lives and attention has shifted from self, to this little helpless human. It’s been tough at times (lots of times), but there are such sweet moments, too. Like when she smiles at me. Or when I hear her sweet sleep noises. Or when Andrew reads to us at night and she falls asleep breastfeeding.

We still don’t have too much of a routine, at least not one I’d like to keep. She typically wakes up at 6:30, and then I may or may not take a shower while Andrew plays with her in bed, depending on how tired I am. Then she wants to nurse and falls asleep around 8:30 or 9. Andrew will usually get my breakfast for me at this point since I am confined to the couch. After she falls asleep, I have about an hour to try to get housework or chores done. This morning we went grocery shopping (yay!). Then she wakes up, nurses, and goes back down for another hour. When she wakes up from that nap, all bets are off. Lately she’s been nursing and catnapping until bedtime. It’s exhausting for both of us and I’m praying it’s just a phase. I think it’s part of a growth spurt which I wish would hurry up and be done.

At 7:30 we start our bedtime routine: change into pajamas, turn on Scripture lullabies, nurse, and listen to Andrew read from The Chronicles of Narnia. She usually nods off by 9, which is when I put her in the bassinet. She’ll typically wake up to eat in two hours, and every two hours until 4 or 5, when she’s up every hour.

We’ve started co-sleeping out of necessity; something I never thought that I would do and it still makes me a little nervous. But it’s the only way I’ve been able to get more than 4 hours of sleep a night. Once she starts sleeping in longer stretches, I’m hoping to move her back to the bassinet. I don’t know when I’ll be ready for her to be in her own room; I read somewhere that the AAP recommends sharing a room until 6 months (though it’s not like I really follow any of their guidelines). We’ll just have to wait and see.

And that is pretty much life as we now know it!

One thought on “Life As We Know It

  1. What a cutie she is! The perfect combination of you and Andrew, I no your days are long, but things will settle down soon. Those first couple of months can be rough 🙂

Leave a Reply

