{38 Weeks}

At 38 weeks, I can now breathe a sigh of relief as it would be perfectly safe for our baby girl to make her appearance at any point.  My boss is terrified that she will come before next Friday since we have a big accreditation next week and she really wants me to be there for it, but I’m not too worried.  All of the kids in my family have been post-term, and while I’m really hoping not to stretch this pregnancy to 42 weeks, I’m just not concerned about her coming along almost a week before her due date.  Although, my massage therapist, who is also a midwife, told me this week that she doesn’t expect to see me again for quite a while, and since I’ve been seeing her every two weeks, that means she expects me to have a newborn sometime between 39 & 40 weeks!!

I’m having a lot of Braxton-Hicks contractions, which are annoying, but I know that they are preparing my body and the baby for labor, so I won’t complain about them too much.  I’m also having significant swelling in my feet and calves, and I am looking forward to the day when I can actually see the bones in my feet again.  Oh, and wear normal clothes.  Yeah, that will be exciting.

Every once in a while I will look at the one 4D image we had taken at the anatomy scan appointment and just look at her sweet (still a little alien looking) face and just get so excited that she will be here soon!

Our Darling Daughter, Mommy & Daddy cannot wait to meet you!  Take as much time as you need, but no more, because we are so anxious to hold you and get to know you.  Daddy is jealous that I’ve been able to hang on to you exclusively for nine months and he thinks it’s his turn now, so come meet us anytime!

2 thoughts on “{38 Weeks}

Leave a Reply

