Better Than I Thought

I recently read Beloved Enemy by Al Lacy and was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked it!  Beloved Enemy is a Civil War “Romeo & Juliet” story revolving around Jenny Jordan, a daughter of the South, and Buck Brownell, a Union soldier.  Jenny lives in Washington, DC with her father, a Confederate spy and meets Buck when volunteering with Clara Barton helping wounded soldiers.  Buck immediately falls for Jenny, but she is guarded at first since her loyalty lies with her father and the South.  You’ll just have to read it to find out more!

I was hesitant to read this book at first since it is a romance and was written by a man.  I just didn’t know if a man would be able to write a good heroine, but I need not have worried.  I was pleasantly surprised that I liked all of the characters, and I even think that men would like the story since there is a lot about the actual war, and not too much “ooey-gooey” romance.  And although it is the third book in a series, I didn’t feel like I was missing any information having not read the other two books.

You can pick up a copy for yourself at Amazon.com (although I wouldn’t pay almost $19 for it); you can also read the first chapter of the book here.  I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for this review.  All opinions are 100% mine.

Don’t forget to rate my review!!

Leave a Reply

