Finding Our Way Home

I recently read Finding Our Way Home by Charlene Ann Baumbich.  This was the first time I had read one of her books, so I didn’t know what to expect, but I really enjoyed the story overall.  Finding Our Way Home tells the story of a principal ballerina, Sasha, who is sidelined as a result of an injury, and who has to overcome her grief over the loss of her career and life as she knew it, to find a new purpose for her life.  Along the way, she meets Evelyn, a bubbly and capable nineteen-year-old ball of energy who challenges her to the very core.  It’s the story of love lost, love found again, and overcoming what seem like insurmountable obstacles.

I was surprised at how little the author referenced God, and that she never referenced Christ since this is marketed as “Christian fiction”.  On the flip side, however, it is a book that non-believers might also enjoy and could be a good conversation starter.  It’s a nice, easy read, well written, and has a happy ending—so I give it 4.5 stars!

You can pre order a copy (not available until March) at Amazon.com or Barnes & Noble.  You can even check out the first chapter here!  I received a copy of this book for free as part of the Blogging for Books program through WaterBrook Multnomah.  All opinions are 100% mine.

2 thoughts on “Finding Our Way Home

  1. Pingback: Giveaway! « Thinking Out Loud

  2. ballet…or bicycles…this is interesting.

    Before I moved to Gainesville, the last time I had ridden a bicycle was in elementary school when I rode to and from school, and now that I’m in college, it’s back to being my main transportation. I never understood why biking was a challenge…probably because I never rode much farther than a mile or because the terrain I was on was flat. Obviously there are not mountains in Florida, but Gainesville has some pretty steep hills…at least to a Floridian…and I hate them. I would rather bike around the whole campus (which is a relatively flat route) than go in a straight line up hill, and that is exactly what I do. Call me lazy if you want, but there is no way I’m going to get to my class (on the complete opposite corner of campus than my previous class) in 15 minutes, sweaty and panting at 3 o’clock in the afternoon.

Leave a Reply

