Thankful for Today

Today I went back to the oncologist for my semi-annual checkup, and for once, I was really looking forward to it.  Now don’t get me wrong, I really like my oncologist, he’s a very nice man and a good physician, but I usually just don’t see a need to go in since I didn’t actually have cancer and the odds of my tumor coming back are miniscule.

Yesterday I was in a day long class when I started noticing some pain my leg that made me a little bit anxious.  Giant cell tumors are much more common in the long bones of the arms and legs (not in the thoracic part of the spine where mine was), so I automatically got to thinking that I had a tumor in my leg.  Yes, that’s how I think.

When I saw the doctor he reassured me that there was only the tiniest sliver of a chance that that kind of tumor could move to a different part of the body, but didn’t even blink before asking if I wanted a scan just to be safe.  I told him that I was sure it was nothing, but that I had started to psych myself out last night, so 5 minutes later I was in the scanner (and he didn’t charge me!!!!!!!!!!).  Five minutes after that he saw the scan and told me that it revealed one thing: “IBF”.  Itty bitty feet.  Ha!

2 thoughts on “Thankful for Today

  1. I’m glad he was able to reassure you and I’m glad you’re tumor free. I understand your thought process, though. One time I thought I was having a stroke secondary to my birth control. I began assessing my coordination and speech to ensure that I was still intact 🙂

Leave a Reply

