Christy Huddleston

My grandmother gave me the book Christy a long time ago—I think I was in high school, and it quickly became one of my favorites.  I’ve read it time and again my grandmother gave it to me and I always finish the story wanting more.

Christy is the story of a nineteen year old girl who leaves her comfortable home and family in Asheville to pursue the Lord’s calling on her life to teach “highlanders” in the poverty-stricken mountains of Tennessee.  While teaching, she learns more than she ever thought possible about God, herself, and the beauty of the mountain people.  She is stretched in ways she never could have imagined, and nearly loses her life while caring for the victims of a typhoid epidemic.  And, she falls in love.

Christy reminds me a lot of my sister Tracy in that Tracy has the same hunger to do and be and live life.

There was also a TV miniseries of the same name based on the book, which is based on the life of the author’s mother.  I haven’t seen the miniseries in years, but now I think I may have to add them to my Netflix queue!  The only thing that disappoints me is that there actually was a great deal of fiction worked into the book, that now I wish I didn’t know about, but this is still one of my favorite books of all time.

Leave a Reply

