PrayerWalk: A Book Review

The other day I finished reading PrayerWalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline by Janet Holm McHenry.  This is a book that is pretty well explained by the title, but tells McHenry’s story about what led her to begin prayerwalking and some helpful suggestions and stories to help others in their prayerwalking journey.

McHenry began prayerwalking to deepen her relationship with Christ as well as to improve her health; and the results were astounding.  She began to see radical changes in her life, the life of her family, and in the lives of her neighbors and friends.  The results were so amazing that she wrote this book to help others begin their journey.

This book was originally published 10+ years ago, but is a topic that is still relevant in our busy lives.  In fact, she has inspired me to give prayerwalking a try!  The way that God has worked in McHenry’s life is undeniable, and she has seen such tremendous growth in her faith that I thought there must be something to this.  Currently I am committing to prayerwalking with my buddy Harrison three days a week (before work).  This means a very early day (and very long) day for me, but I’ve decided that my relationship with Christ is worth it.  Every time (and I’ve only done it for three days!!) that I’ve felt like giving up, I just go back to the book and am just so amazed by the transformation in the author’s life that I get up and walk.

Although this book took me about two months to get through because of travelling and life in general, I would definitely recommend it to a friend.  If you are like me and just have trouble finding the time to focus up and pray, then this might be a good book to read.  The pace of the book is a little slow, but it’s well worth the effort.

Pick up a copy for yourself at amazon.com.

I received this book for free as part of the Blogging for Books program from Multnomah Press.  All opinions are 100% mine.

Rank my review on the Blogging for Books website!!!

Leave a Reply

