Malawi-Day Three

The only giraffe I saw on the whole trip... in the Johanessburg airport

July 31

Well, we are on yet another plane, the last one in our venture to Malawi.  It’s a short 1.5 hour-ish ride, but we were still served a full meal—we’re definitely not in the USA!

We woke up around 6 this morning to grab breakfast before heading to the airport.  I’m still really tired and wouldn’t mind a nice long nap, but a cup of coffee has done me a world of good.  I didn’t sleep very well last night, as is usual for me when I travel, but it didn’t help that the walls are paper thin and we could hear almost everything going on in the hotel; for instance, there was a group of drunk women that woke a lot of us up around 2 AM.

Once we land we are supposed to head out to one of the villages for a welcome ceremony and to meet some kids.  They’ve told us that the kids all ask to drink from our water bottles, but that we should not let them.  I’m sure that will make us feel pretty heartless, but I know that they are only looking out for our safety.

This morning after getting to the airport I was really parched and went to look for a water fountain.  Well, I ended up outside the restrooms and asked an employee if there was a fountain; she nodded and took me to a utility closet where there was a huge utility sink with a faucet.  I was dumbfounded but she said that it was safe to drink, so I put about 1/2 oz. in.  I never did drink it.

Evening devotional on John 9:1-11.  Jesus asks us to take part in the washing away our our “special needs”.

Leave a Reply

