I love Jane Eyre!

When I first received Jane Eyre as a Christmas gift last year, I was not very excited.  For one, Andrew told me that he read the book in high school and didn’t like it; in addition, it looked about as thick as my Bible and I wasn’t sure that I wanted to read so long a book.

My opinion of the book turned out to be very different than that of my husband’s.  What a wonderful story!  I was on the edge of my seat at several points and deeply engrossed in the storyline throughout.  I was amazed at the contrast between Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights, written by Charlotte and Emily Bronte, respectively.  The two were sisters and their writing is as different as night from day!  I couldn’t stand Wuthering Heights; I found the characters selfish and one-dimensional, but Jane Eyre was the total opposite.  Jane, the heroine, is a selfless, bright, intelligent, and compassionate person who completely captivated my interest.  The book also talks a great deal about many Christian values that I found thought-provoking.

I would recommend this book to almost anyone.  Although Bronte writes in a very different style than Jane Austen, I think Austen fans will enjoy this book since it revolves around many of the same themes that she writes about.

I read the book in its entirety, long as it is, in about a week.  I honestly had a difficult time putting it down, and was sad when it ended.  I know that this is a book that I will enjoy time and again in spite of its length.  If you’ve never read it before, or even if you did as a student, I would recommend picking up a copy sometime, it’s well worth the time.

3 thoughts on “I love Jane Eyre!

  1. I totally agree! I read Wuthering Heights and couldn’t handle the darkness of the theme. Emily Bronte’s style is just so different from Charlotte’s. Are you going to see the movie?

Leave a Reply

