Plain Wisdom

Plain Wisdom is a unique book written by two very different authors: Cindy Woodsmall and Miriam Flaud.  Cindy has written several successful works of fiction that center around Amish life, and Miriam is an Amish woman.  This book talks about their friendship and gives the reader a glimpse into Amish life.

I can definitely say that I was surprised by how much fun the Amish are “allowed” to have!  Almost every book I’ve read that has the Plain people as main characters paints a very rigid picture.  Granted, the Plain (aka Amish) life is very structured, but I was glad to know that there is also a lot of fun built in.  Plain Wisdom shows just how important family is to the Amish people, and that the Amish life is more than just following legalistic rules and regulations.  I was also surprised at the number of mixes (i.e. Bisquik, cake mix, etc. [there are a few recipes included]) that the Amish use.  I just figured they cooked and baked everything from scratch.

This is not a long book, nor is it something that you have to read all in one sitting.  Actually, it would almost be better to read it over the course of a few days or weeks.  The chapters are very short and can be used a quick “pick me up” because they are full of encouraging words.  It’s not a book that will revolutionize your life, but it is very sweet and I was glad that I learned a little bit more about the Amish way of life.

You can pick up a copy for yourself at Amazon.com.

I received this book for free in exchange for a fair and honest review.  All opinions are 100% mine.

Vote for my review on the Blogging for Books website!!

Leave a Reply

