Water for Elephants

I just finished reading Water for Elephants about 10 hours after I started it.  Though it’s a long book (400+ pages), it was a surprisingly quick read.  When I first saw previews for the movie, I didn’t really know if I wanted to see it/read the book because I thought it was all about an affair, but when a friend from work was reading it and said that it was actually really good, I decided to give it a try.

I liked it!  Although, there were some very graphic portions that I could have done without.  It’s definitely not a book for kids/adolescents.  I found out that with a recent Amazon purchase comes a complimentary ticket to the movie, so I’m excited to go see it; I just hope they at least tone down the explicit parts.

One thought on “Water for Elephants

  1. I was surprised at how much I liked this book too. Don’t think I’ll see the movie though only because I expect Hollywood to play up rather than tone down those parts. Very interesting look into 1930’s circus culture though.

Leave a Reply

