Life Without Limits–A Review

Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life by Nick Vujicic is not quite what I expected.  I think that I was anticipating an autobiography, but what the book actually is is an inspirational/motivational book with the autobiography thrown in.

I had heard Nick’s name a few times recently; he came to Orlando not too long ago and a friend of mine heard him speak, and then my sister-in-law read this book and really liked it.  The story is amazing.  Nick was born without arms or legs but has managed to achieve great things and is being used by the Lord as an evangelist and motivational speaker.  He obviously has a great sense of humor because he tells some funny stories about his past and the fun he has had with strangers who just don’t know what to make of him and there were some parts that were really fun to read.

My favorite quote is when Nick talks about fear,

“Don’t let fear keep you from chasing your dreams.  You should treat fear like you treat your smoke detector.  Pay attention to it when it goes off—look around and see if there is real danger or just the alarm ringing.  If there is no real threat, put fear out of your mind and go on with your life.”

I thought that those were some really wise words.  I also really liked the last chapter of the book “Make Giving Your Mission”.  In this chapter, Nick talks about how giving of yourself is a great way not only to help others, but to also help yourself.  It’s hard to loathe yourself if you can see that you are making a positive impact on the lives of others and it’s a great way to shift from a “me” mentality to an “others” mentality.

There was a lot about this book that I really liked, but there was also quite a bit that left me scratching my head.  I couldn’t tell who he was writing this book to—Christians, or non-Christians.  He always made mention to the Lord and how he himself was completely reliant on Him, but he also talked a lot about “self” stuff that sounded more like motivational speaking than anything else.  I don’t think it is a bad book at all, I was just a little confused at some points.

One thing that really bothered me was that when he referenced the Bible, he never gave a reference; instead He would quote whatever passage he was talking about and never say where exactly it was from (e.g. see page 69).  He did the same thing regarding several research studies, which, from a scientific standpoint, really bothered me.  I like to know where someone is pulling their information so I can check up on it if I want to.  I also wasn’t a big fan of the paragraphs upon paragraphs of cliches.

All in all, the book was pretty good.  Would I recommend it to just anyone?  Probably not, but if you need a light read and a very positive book, then this might be the one for you!

I received this book for free in exchange for a fair and honest review.  All opinions are 100% mine.

Vote for my review on the Blogging for Books website!!

One thought on “Life Without Limits–A Review

  1. I actually agree with your review! The first time I read through it I thought it was such a great book (I think in part because I was amazed at his ability to overcome his handicap) but when I started thinking it over, I agree it was a lot of cliches. Honestly, he does a lot of speaking to teens, so that was probably who he was aiming at. And I think he was trying to reach out to christians and non christians, and any time you do that, you aren’t going to get super deep.

Leave a Reply

