More on Malawi

Want to learn more about my trip to Malawi?  Then read on!

My passport application is nearly finished (just waiting on a certified copy of my marriage license), and my application to go on the trip is turned in.  Now all I have to do is get the typhoid shot (??) and pay!

I still have a lot of fears related to this trip, but I just can’t ignore how God has orchestrated events so that I can go.  Every time I think of a new excuse not to go, He just shoots it down and tells me to shut up and trust Him.  For instance, one of the biggest obstacles in my mind was getting the time off from work, but wouldn’t you know it, the trip is scheduled during my already planned vacation time!  Um.  Yeah.

My next biggest obstacle is finances.  For one thing, my sister needs to raise $40k+ in the next three months so that she can move to France to work for Campus Crusade for Christ, so there is no way that I want to take any financial support that might otherwise be given to her; plus, I hate asking for money.  However, I have already had friends ask me to send them support letters.  That just blows me out of the water.

Summit (where I go to church) works closely with Children of the Nations, which is a ministry that works in several different parts of Africa full-time.  The specific trip that I will be going on is something that I am really excited about.  We will be working with special needs children and their families, more specifically, planning a retreat for them.  We are going to take them on safari (so stoked about this!!!) and then to a camp (think along the lines of Give Kids the World).  Basically, we are going to give them a week to remember!  The things that we will be doing with these children and their families are especially important because of the attitudes about the disabled that are prevalent in Africa, and really, around the world.  Many times people with disabilities are marginalized, but we are going to show these kids and their families that they are not a mistake and that they matter to God and to us.  In addition, we will be providing education and support to caregivers and family members regarding specific health issues that are relevant to their lives and well-being.

I am excited about the prospect of going on safari (hello, who wouldn’t be?!?!), but I am even more excited about how God is going to work through our team on this trip.  I don’t want to falsely elevate this team, we can’t accomplish anything without the power of the Holy Spirit, and I know that the people we meet will make just as much an impact on us (or more) than we will on them.  I’m nervous, but I also can’t wait to meet these people on the other side of the planet and show them the love of Christ in a tangible way.

As I prepare my heart (and a host of other things) for this journey to Malawi, I covet your prayers.  Without prayer and the power of the Holy Spirit, no amount of work will matter.  If the Lord places in you a desire to support this trip financially, I would be incredibly grateful for that as well (all contributions are tax-deductible).  The cost for me to venture across the ocean is $3,000, and each participant is also asked to raise money to send a child to camp, about $450.  And while money is important, that is not why I wrote this post.  I wrote this to share my excitement and to recruit prayer partners, so please don’t feel any obligation to give financially unless the Lord lays it on your heart.

Thanks for reading about my trip to Malawi… I’m sure that it will become a frequent topic for me to blog about 🙂

4 thoughts on “More on Malawi

  1. That’s so cool that you decided to embark on this adventure. I did a similar trip with my church to Kenya last year and it was such an eye-opening experience. I can’t wait to hear more as you prepare for the trip.

  2. Erin, this sounds like an amazing opportunity! I am so excited for you and I can’t wait to hear more about the trip!

  3. We are very excited for you and will be praying for you. Give us more details on when you are going and how to support you.

  4. Pingback: Attention, All Super Couponers!! « Thinking Out Loud

Leave a Reply

