One Thousand Gifts

One Thousand Gifts is a book written by Ann Voskamp that I recently picked up at the recommendation of my sister-in-law.  She likened it to The Shack, and since I love The Shack, I was really excited to read it.

The premise of the book is that the author would find one thousand things for which to give thanks.  They didn’t have to be big things, in fact, it is better if they are small.  So Voskamp started a list.  She found that “eucharisteo,” the Greek word meaning to give thanks was the key to closer communion with Christ.  And giving thanks doesn’t stop with the things that we consider good gifts, but it’s the learning to be thankful in the “bad” and difficult that is where growth occurs.

The subject of this book is excellent and it offers up a good challenge (chapter 8 is amazing), but to my dismay, it was really difficult to get through.  I’ve said before that any book that is challenging in its content usually takes me a while to read to completion; not so with this one.  Yes, the subject is tough, but it was so hard to get through this one because of the writing style!  The author jumps around excessively and writes prose as if she were writing poetry.  I’m sure she’s a great story teller in real life—but I am just not a fan of the writing style here.  She just didn’t come across as very down-to-earth and practical to me.

So would I read this book again?  Probably not; as another reviewer said, it became a chore for me to finish…. so much of a chore that I just decided to give up because I began to dread picking it up to read.

Subject matter = A+, but writing style and readability = D for me.

Don’t take my word for it, though.  At Amazon.com you can read the first chapter for free and form your own opinion.

One thought on “One Thousand Gifts

  1. I’ve been seeing this book all over blogdom and then recently two good friends recommended it. Still haven’t read it though. I downloaded the sample and found it a little difficult, the whole traumatic childhood thing was a bit much for me as I seem to have stumbled across a lot of those kinds of stories lately.
    It’s on my list to read someday, but not right now.

Leave a Reply

