Good Day

There are many joys in my job, but one of the biggest is placing a baby in the arms of his or her mother for the first time, more specifically, kangaroo care.  Being a part of that special bonding time is an honor that I cannot put into words and it is something that I was able to do for a mom and baby just this Tuesday.  It is such a joy to be a part of now, and I can only imagine what I will feel when I am a mother myself.  In the last few decades, neonatology has recognized the role of the family, namely the mother, as central to the baby’s growth and development and it’s amazing to see how even these tiny babies thrive when their mothers are able to properly bond with them and treat them appropriately.

The second great joy in my work is sending healthy (or mostly healthy) babies home with loving families.  Today I sent a baby home with parents that love and adore her and are so excited about her arrival.  I wish that everyday were like that.

My heart is so full this week simply because of these two joys.  These are the days that make it all worthwhile.

3 thoughts on “Good Day

  1. love this!!!!

    You would have loved giving Ivy to Courtney to nurse for the first time after her surgery (a week + post op) They just melted into each other. Ivy remembered exactly what to do and all her vitals became perfect as she nursed. 🙂 It’s such a special memory from the very long and hard hospital stay.

    The families whose babies need this care are so blessed to have a nurse like you, Erin!

  2. The NICU is an incredibly special place……the moments you described are life changing for these parents. I love that you got to discharge this week….I personally loved that part.

Leave a Reply

