Years Go By

Many friends come and go throughout our lives.  We move away or grow apart, but being able to reconnect again, even when years have lapsed, is always a blessing.

Last week Andrew and I went to a surprise birthday party for Dr. Portugal and I was so excited about it for several reasons.  One, Dr. Portugal gave me my first job and was a tremendous advocate for me during my spinal issues, but more than that, she has been a true friend to me and my family.  Two, we were able to see her son, Ivan, and daughter-in-law Lindsey who we also had not seen in several years.  Andrew was in Ivan and Lindsey’s wedding, and Ivan and I have been friends since high school, but honestly, I don’t think that we had seen any of them since our wedding day over two years ago.

Blurry... but it's the best picture I had of the four of us

It was such a joy to see the Portugal family and to be able to reconnect; Lindsey and I talked for several hours while Andrew and Ivan play video games {of course}, and we were able to catch up on each others’ lives.  I was even able to see some of the office staff that I worked with several years ago which was an unexpected pleasure.

We had a great time… I just hope we don’t have to wait another two years to do it again!

Dr. Portugal and I

2 thoughts on “Years Go By

  1. We had a fun time! 🙂 I am still waiting for all my pictures from the trip to post a blog about it. 🙂 Can you send me any of the pics you have?

Leave a Reply

