Cookies

Some of you may know that I make chocolate chip cookies every now and again {cough cough}… frequently, that is.  Since I am trying to lead a healthy lifestyle, I have been looking for ways to substitute the sugar and butter in the recipe that I use, and without much success until now.

Today I used this recipe:

  • 3 c flour (I usually use whole wheat, but today I just used unbleached)
  • 1/4 c granulated sugar
  • 1 overripe banana
  • 1/3 c honey
  • 3/4 c brown sugar
  • 1.5 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 c butter
  • 1/2 c applesauce
  • 1 package chocolate chips (I prefer Ghiradelli)
  • 2 eggs

Combine eggs, sugars, banana, honey, butter, applesauce, and vanilla.  Mix well.  Then add dry ingredients, adding flour slowly.  Mix well.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Drop 1 tablespoon of dough onto cookies sheet/cooking stone and place in 350 degree preheated over.  Let bake for 10-12 minutes.

They turned out really yummy with just a hint of banana flavor, not overpowering at all.

 

Leave a Reply

