Justice

There is to be no justice for Summer or her family.

Most of you know that earlier this year a baby that I loved dearly, she was like my own child, died unexpectedly at home after months and months of working to get her home.  So many people thought that she would never make it home, but she did.  She had one glorious week with her family before she died at the hands of a negligent home health nurse.

Her death sent me into a tailspin and I didn’t know if I would ever recover from the hurt and the hole that she left in my heart.  I came to a place of burnout and seriously considered quitting my job.  Somehow, through grace, I moved on and reveled in the progress that her brother and sister made and trusted that justice would be served.  Her family picked themselves up by the bootstraps and we all waited for autopsy results as well as diagnostic reports on her ventilator, apnea monitor, and pulse-ox.

Today I talked with her mother and she told me that they will be unable to prosecute the nurse because of some idiotic reason.  She will get off scot free!!!!!  The family is able to pursue a civil case against the home health company, but the maximum settlement they could get is $250,000 because of a state statute.  After the attorney takes 40%, there will be enough to set up college funds for her siblings, but it is nothing compared to the pain and suffering this family has endured.  As if it were even about the money.  The fact is, this nurse is free to move on (though haunted by her actions) and work and possibly do this to another family (this is not the first time she has been investigated because of a child’s death).

There is so much more that I want to write, but because the internet is the internet and out of respect for the family’s privacy, I won’t.

I am stunned.  Speechless.  Devastated.  Furious.

I won’t be finishing The Shack anytime soon.  It’s hitting a little close to home right now.

I can’t believe it.

2 thoughts on “Justice

  1. You and Summer’s family are in my prayers! I know it must be so frustrating knowing it was a needless death and now there’s no punishment for the nurse! This just shows why it’s so important to have qualified people, like you, working in the field!

  2. Wow… this is shocking. I will be in prayer for you and Summer’s family. Sadly I feel like in the future it will just get worse with this type of thing. 😦
    The good thing is to remember that God is in control… despite the pain and the hurt… it is in His hands no matter what.

Leave a Reply

