Special Reads

I’ve always loved to read.  This is going to sound really weird…. but as a kid, I would often excuse myself to the bathroom where I had hidden a book under the counter and just read.  Because, honestly, who is going to bother you in the bathroom?

Moving on.  There are a few books that I could read over and over again without getting bored, in fact, I’m reading two of them now!

I love The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis and am currently reading through the series in preparation for the next movie to be released in December.  There is something about Aslan that just “gets” me; it’s probably due to the fact that his character is modeled after Christ.  Even though Lewis wrote these books for children, they are still very enjoyable for adults (at least this one), and are an easy read.

My sister-in-law Kelley gave us a copy of The Shack for our wedding and it actually took me a while to pick it up and read it.  Once I did pick it up, though, I couldn’t put it down.  I would highly recommend this book to almost anyone; I do think that you need to go in knowing that Young does not intend for this to be the Bible and be open to being challenged in your thinking of God and His love for us.  I have this one loaned out to a friend and I cannot wait to get it back and read it again.

Another of my “staples”  is The Screwtape Letters. This book is another one that took me a while to read; my mom gave me a copy when I was in high school and then I read about four pages and put it down.  I didn’t pick it up again until last year when I practically inhaled it.  There was so much meat in the book that I couldn’t believe that I hadn’t read it before.  Much of C.S. Lewis’s books are a little over my head and difficult to muddle through, but this book is not difficult to grasp at all while still being very challenging.

Bear with me for one final paragraph 🙂  My last special read is pretty much anything by Jane Austen.  I must admit that I have only read three of her works as of yet (Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, and Mansfield Park), but am eager to read the rest.  Just like Kathleen Kelly, I get lost in the language of the books and love the (mostly) wholesome storylines.  I love Jane Austen.

And so ends my blog post on my favorite books.  But if no one comments on my pun I am going to be super disappointed.

Leave a Reply

