New Year

I have learned a great deal about myself this past year, especially in these last few weeks.  Most of these things are not particularly good and I am not particularly excited about what I have learned.

Today as I was coming home from the grocery store I thought about a New Year’s Eve spent with some friends in high school and all I wanted to do was enter the new year in prayer; I thought that it would be so cool to set the tone for that next year by talking to Jesus.  As I think about who I was then and who I am now, I have mixed feelings.  On the one hand, I have grown a lot from the (really)  judgmental/legalistic person that I was to someone who is less so.  On the other hand, I feel that my love and passion for Christ has waned and I am much more of a gossip than I would like to admit.

In light of this, here are my New Year’s resolutions:

  • Be the same person to everyone—authentic
  • Mean what I say and say what I mean
  • Minimize the negativity
  • Love Jesus more
  • Give people the benefit of the doubt
  • Extend the hand of grace to those that I don’t particularly like

It’s going to be difficult.  Seriously.  Really difficult.  I know that I am going to fall flat on my face, but I also know that I serve a forgiving God.

One thought on “New Year

  1. Pingback: Thinking « Thinking Out Loud

Leave a Reply

