Mother’s Day

Today is Mother’s Day and I have to work, not to mention the fact that my mom is out of town, but I still wanted to take a moment to publicly thank her for all that she has done.

My mom raised four kids and didn’t complain, wasn’t mean, and was tremendously loving.  She was always there when we needed her and was our biggest fan.  What stands out to me most recently was when I was recovering from my last surgery, she came to the hospital to stay with me when I called her at 5am crying because I was lonely (not to mention drugged out of my mind!) and scared because they moved me from the ICU to a regular room the size of a closet.  She helped me take showers, wash my hair, blow dry my hair, shave my legs, made me food that I could actually eat, and kept my pain meds on schedule.  She would come home on her lunch break just to check on me, or remove a dressing that pinched/itched my skin.  She took care of me without ever making me feel like a burden and was happy to do it.  Just like the rest of my life.  My mom continues to take such excellent care of me (and her other three kids).

So with this short post, I just want to thank her for being an excellent mother and virtuous woman.

Leave a Reply

