Spiders

*Shudder*

Today I was in the MRI tube and I was three minutes from being done, when all of the sudden, out of the corner of my eye, I see something move.  So of course I look over to my left, and then I realize… it’s a spider!!!!  In the MRI tube!!!  And I can’t move!!!  I am stuck there for another 2 minutes (because, of course, I told the tech that I didn’t need the emergency squeeze thing because I don’t freak during MRIs) as the spider moves around and stops right above my head.  My face is 10 inches away from this little creepy crawly thing, and the whole time I am praying, “Please, Lord, don’t let it land on me!  Please make it move so that I at least can’t see it!”  It doesn’t.  It just sits there above my face.  I feel my whole body heat up and tense up, anxiously waiting for the voice to come over the intercom and say, “You’re all done!”  Finally, the tech comes over the intercom and says those wonderful words, and the stretcher moves out of the tube.  As soon as it starts moving and he comes in the room, I told him that it was all that I could do not to crawl out of the tube before the scan was over.  He couldn’t believe that I didn’t scream, especially since he said that he hates spiders and all sorts of bugs, too.

So then we exchanged horror stories about bugs as we walked back to the reception desk.  

Next time I’m grabbing the emergency squeeze button.  I don’t care if I look like a wuss.

4 thoughts on “Spiders

  1. Wow, I really really don’t know if I could’ve stayed. Spiders and roaches are two of the things that really make my spine tingle.

    So, how did everything else go? When will you know the results?

    • I go see the surgeon on May 11 to get the final results. If anything were wrong, they would probably call me early, but I don’t anticipate any problems 🙂

Leave a Reply

