Thoughts

Thoughts about some quotes from A.W. Tozer’s book God’s Pursuit of Man:
“We have substituted theological ideas for an arresting encounter; we are full of religious notions but our great weakness is that for our hearts there is no one there.”
“He is best discerned by an intellectual touch of Him.  We must see with our eyes, and hear with our ears, and our hands must handle of the Word of Life.”
“…crave to know God with a vital awareness that goes beyond words and to live in the intimacy of personal communion.”
“What they see and hear overwhelms their doubts and confirms their assurance beyond the power of argument to destroy.”
This book talks about a slightly more emotional faith than I have experienced lately.  One that goes beyond even fact and theological truth.  This faith is intensely personal.  I feel lately as if I have a very intellectual knowledge of my Savior.  I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that He has saved me, because I have read it in His Word.  And therein lies the problem.  Even demons from the pit of Hell believe the Word, they know it is true and tremble.  I know that I have experienced personal revelation from Heaven, but in my human frailty, I need that touch more than once.  In fact, I need it almost everyday.  I have tried to tell myself that the faith that I live now is the more mature faith; the faith that does not depend of simple emotional highs and lows… because the heart is deceitful.  And I still believe that.  My faith cannot depend on emotions, but emotions sure help.
I experience God and the Power of His Hand everyday.  I work in an environment where nearly all of my patients would not have made it 50, or some even 10  years ago.  But God created some incredibly intelligent people who worked tirelessly to improve the lives of pre-term babies.  All of the babies that I encounter are miracles.
“Without doubt we have suffered the loss of many spiritual treasures because we have let slip the simple truth that the miracle of the perpetuation of life is in God.  God did not create life and toss it from Him like some petulant artist disappointed with his work.  All life is in Him and out of Him, flowing from Him and returning to Him again, a moving indivisible sea of which He is the Fountainhead.  That eternal life which was with the Father is now the possession of believing men, and that life is not God’s gift only, but His very self.”
All life is precious and is ordained by God, that is why I am such a huge opponent of abortion.  The only advocate that babies have is that of their parents.  When their parents refuse to speak up for them, it’s up to believers to speak up about the injustice being done.
Anyway, I hope that this wasn’t too much rambling… I’m just thinking out loud.
Leave a Reply

