Corn Syrup and Aspartame

“researchers from the University of Florida suggests that a diet high in fructose may lead the body to develop a resistance to a protein called leptin, which helps control appetite.”

Your body recognizes aspartame as formaldehyde.

After learning these two things, and growing to want to avoid putting processed food in my body, I went grocery shopping earlier this week and tried really hard to avoid high fructose corn syrup and aspartame.  Aspartame wasn’t so difficult to avoid, but high fructose corn syrup!!  Holy cow!  It’s almost impossible.  Even if it doesn’t have HFCS, it has hydrogenated oil or chemically altered corn flour.  We did pretty well, but I’d like to do better.  I’m also trying to go organic, but it seems impossible without breaking the bank.  Where can I buy organic food that won’t empty my wallets?

3 thoughts on “Corn Syrup and Aspartame

  1. People have a lot of issues with leptin which is keeping them from losing weight. I don’t know a whole lot about it, but if you’d like I can get you some info on it.

    Aspartame is NASTY. You are smart to stay away. Anything that says sugar-free is no good. It’s in most low fat yogurts – that is one I was surprised about. Aspartame also creates issues with appetite as well, not allowing your brain to tell you that you are full. Most overweight people drink ONLY diet sodas! Stevia is a good and natural artificial sweetener.

    As far as organic, I’d say research which foods they use the most pesticides on and buy organic of those. Maybe a compromise until the budget permits more. We don’t do all organic yet.

    Best thing to do is stay with fresh foods as much as possible and away from anything you have to open a box or bag to get to…it’s so difficult!!

  2. I had no idea you were into natural products and health food – that’s awesome!

    If you’re ever searching for a certain product, let me know. Whether I like it or not, I have hundreds of products, brands, and ingredients memorized from working two years at a health food store 🙂

    • Well, let’s just say that I’m working on not being into artificial stuff and putting as little man made junk into this God made body 🙂

      I will definitely let you know if I need info 🙂

Leave a Reply

