Visitors

Andrew and I are back to church hunting.  We have been going to Downtown Baptist since October, and at first we really liked it.  Although there was no one our age, the people were friendly, and we were able to quickly find a Sunday School class.  However, we started to realize that, like in all churches, there were some flaws that we just weren’t okay with.  For instance, there were no couples our age.  Our “young married” class was full of couples who had all been married at least 10 years, and they all had children.  Don’t get me wrong, we really like the people in our class, but we just felt like we would be acquaintances forever.  We met some really nice, godly people at DBC, and I know that God is going to do some great things and make some big changes in the coming year, but we just sensed that it was not to be our church home.

So this morning we visited Summit for the second time, and were very blessed by what we heard.  Isaac delivered a powerful message about getting out of sin, and being holy.  And the music was great, too!  Next week we’ll start looking into a connection group (Lifegroup, Sunday School, whatever your particular church calls it), and look forward to meeting new people.  But, we’re back to being the new people.

I have to say, I’m really tired of being the new person.  I’ve been “new” for that last 3 or so years.  It’s strange how much I continue to be affected by the church split that my home church went through almost 3 years ago.  When I finally left that location with my family, after over a year of unhappiness, I was somewhat relieved.  I never thought that it would be so hard to find home again.  And, boy, has it been difficult.  I’ve been to a lot of churches in the last few years, most of them were full of wonderful believers.  My family found a home last year, and I am so grateful, but still, not the place that God was calling me.  When Andrew and I became engaged, we started going to his church.  But then when he moved downtown, we decided we wanted a place near home, and a place that we could belong together.

I hope that this will be home.  Because I am so tired of being new.  I’m ready to know people and be known.  I’m ready to be at ease instead of always feeling awkward.  I’m ready to plug in and serve in the place where God directs.  I’m so ready.

One thought on “Visitors

  1. Welcome to the world of blogging. It’s good to have a place to write out all these thoughts.
    Finding a church family and belonging is so very important and God will lead you and Andrew I’m sure, though His leading is not always along a smooth road.
    Praying for you in your search.

Leave a Reply

