Tone

I have tone issues.  As in, I often use sarcastic, impatient, or short tone.  It’s something that I’ve become more and more aware of because of marriage, but most recently when I used a less-than-kind tone with a friend.

Honestly, when I use that mean-ish tone of voice, I’m not particularly upset, I am just not exercising good self control.  But even though I’m not upset or angry, it hurts the feelings of those close to me, it alienates people, and it makes me look like a jerk.  Looking back into my childhood, I can see that this is something that I have always struggled with.  I don’t have to think too hard to recall many times when I used a supercilious tone with my sister, and we are only now able to work toward a good relationship.  I use that tone of voice with my mother, husband, friends, co-workers–the list goes on and on!

My heart is so grieved over this sin, and the people I have hurt, but I am so thankful for God’s grace and His help in overcoming it.  I cannot imagine where I would be without Him.

I know the first step toward fixing a problem (or character flaw) is identifying the issue.  Okay, step one done.  The hard part is catching myself in the moment and changing my tone of voice even before I speak.